

February 14, 2019

New Clerk of Legislative Assembly of Alberta appointed

EDMONTON – The Honourable Robert E. Wanner, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Merwan Saher to serve as the 8th Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, effective February 14, 2019.

"Mr. Saher is a long serving and dedicated Alberta public servant who served the Office of the Auditor General with distinction during a nearly four decade span. His history and record of constructive leadership along with a commitment to the public service will ensure the future of the Legislative Assembly Office's mission to provide nonpartisan parliamentary support and exemplary service," said Speaker Wanner.

The Clerk is the chief executive officer of the Legislative Assembly and has authority and responsibility equivalent to that of a deputy minister of a government department. Under the direction of the Speaker, the Clerk has both procedural and managerial responsibilities.

Mr. Saher was educated in England and became a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales in 1972 and a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Alberta in 1982. In 2012, he was made a Fellow of the Chartered Accountants of Alberta. In 1980, his career as a legislative auditor began at Alberta's Office of the Auditor General where he performed in various roles.

Mr. Saher was appointed Auditor General of Alberta in 2010 and his eight-year term ended in April 2018. In May 2018, he received a Lifetime Achievement Award from CPA Alberta.

- 30 -

Alex McCuaig, Chief of Staff, Speaker's Office Office: 780.427.2464

alex.mccuaig@assembly.ab.ca